Welcome Alec Betancourt, our Lisa Lyon Evans Conservation Intern!

Each summer, the MHLC office welcomes a conservation intern to help us maintain our 18 public preserves. In 2018, we are thrilled to welcome Alec Betancourt, an Altamont resident and SUNY Buffalo sophomore studying Environmental Engineering.

Alec writes, “growing up in Altamont, I was very fortunate to be able to enjoy many of MHLC’s preserves throughout my life. Now I look forward to being a part of this organization so I can help give others the experience I received while visiting these preserved lands.”

Stay tuned this summer for updates from Alec as he explores the trails, fields, forests, and streams of our preserves (with bushwhacker in hand!).

The Lisa Lyon Evans Conservation Internship honors Lisa Lyon Evans, past MHLC Board Chair and a devoted supporter of conservation in the Capital Region. Lisa’s tenacious efforts on behalf of MHLC sparked our growth as an organization. She motivated our team to look to the future. As a lifelong resident, business leader, and altruistic community member, Lisa’s leadership helped us become the Capital Region’s local land trust. Our Conservation Internship gives an individual the opportunity to learn about how a land trust works, to become familiar with local ecology and land management strategies, and to gain experience with non-profit organizations and volunteer coordination. By training the next generation of conservationists, we honor the legacy of Lisa Lyon Evans.

This internship is made possible by the generosity of people who have donated in memory of Lisa Lyon Evans. We would like to send a very special thank you to Lisa’s husband, Tom Evans, her business partner and friend, Suzanne Smith, and these donors:

Thank you!

In memory of Lisa Lyon Evans…

Kim Baker
Karen C. Beck
Matt Bender
Keith & Susan Bennett
Sherry Bostwick Bishko
Susan L. Blabey
Jean & Rondi Brower
Donna & Thomas Buckley
Patrick & Sarah Carroll
Colonie Senior Service Centers, Inc.
Virginia & Edward Cropsey
Sally Daly
Elsa G. deBeer
DeChants, Fuglein & Johnson, LLP
Carol & Bob Deitz
Leslie Hughes DiCamillo
Cornelius Dullea Murray
Thomas Fris
Ronald & Regina Gerhard
John Gillespie & Kathleen Sullivan
Vincent & Sheila Giordano
James and Chris Green
Claudia Hammar, NYS Association of Health Care Providers
Maryann Handron
Chris and Kelli Hawver
Barbara C. Healy
Frank Herbert
Fred & Donna Hershey
Alane Hohenberg
Ted & Sally Jennings
Susan & Tucker Jones
Becca Jones
Helen & Allen Kaplan
Liz & Barb Langdon
Anne LaSalle
Jeff & Judy Leon
Cathie Love & George Berg
Jeannie Lyon Langdon
Judy MacDonald
Doris Fischer Malesardi
Chuck & Barbara Manning
Stephen S. Marks
Robert & Christine McCarthy
Barbara McGovern
Peter and Marie-Louise McHugh
Felton McLaughlin
Skip Meislahn
Philip & Kathleen Morris
Kenneth P Mortensen, Jr.
Lynn & Wilfred Pauquette
Ted & Sherry Putney
Dale & Craig Raisig
Bryan Rayburn
John Razzano
Reid, McNally & Savage
William Reinhardt
Donna & Dennis Rhodes
Joseph Rosano
Rosemarie V. Rosen
Alice & Ross Sandler
Anita Lynne Lyon-Sechler
Paul & Christine Shields
Steve Smith
Hank Stebbins & Val Washington
Hildegard Steinmann
Steven Mann Sumberg
John & Sally Ten Eyck
Peter & Rose-Marie Ten Eyck
Inga Tomson
Josey Twombly
Kay & Bill Valentino
Tim & Maggie Vinciguerra
Marjorie Waldman
Connie & Harry Wilbur
Carla R. Williams
Donald & Jean Wilson
Caleb Wistar
Andrew Wood, D.D.S., P.C.
Catherine Zupan


Comments are closed